Shaggy Stacks

With the unplanned day off yesterday I wasn’t sure what to do to fill in my time. I went to the golf driving range for a quick bucket then started back home. That’s when I thought I’d head towards Ben Lomond. I haven’t been up there before and wanted to do some recon for the future.

Once again I found a rough dirt track leading up to the resort. My car really isn’t designed for that sort of road, but that doesn’t seem to stop me. I got up there and was absolutely freezing! And to make matters worse the lookout track was closed due to engineering concerns, so I didn’t get any good shots for the trip.

However, on the drive out I came across more haystacks, this time they were shaggy. Of course I had to stop and take a couple shots. That is Ben Lomond in the background of the first three shots.




6 thoughts on “Shaggy Stacks

  1. JRP

    Simply my kind of scene Col. I can’t tell you enough how beautiful these landscapes are. Love the shaggy hay…so cool.

    The tree in the 2nd one ROCKS and the trees in the last one are really cool looking!!

    You also have been having some awesome skies. Sorry the day wasn’t exactly as planned but you got these great pics!!

  2. julielawsonphotography

    This is such a beautiful set. How cold was it….the day looks so warm and wonderful. Love the shaggy stacks..so cool.

  3. photorover

    Perfectly composed and rendered — of course!

    I love the last shot; the trees remind me of people … maybe women standing over their washing (the old fashioned kind).

    Really nice, Col!

  4. suehenryphotography

    I often wonder how you and Arla get such stunning skies for such spectacular landscape images. Your images NEVER disappoint……..sigh.

  5. colblue Post author

    Thank you for the wonderful comments Ladies. Arla, Julie, welcome to my blog! 🙂

    Julie, the day was nice and hot where I was taking the Hay Stack shots. Unfortunately the temperature dropped dramatically at the top of Ben Lomond. I didn’t help the matter by only wearing shorts and a shirt. 🙂

    Sue, trust me when I say, I have been very lucky with the skies in my recent shots. I’m also in awe of the skies Arla captures. I’d love to see those dramatic skies over Tassie when I have a camera in my hand.

    I’ve mentioned everyone else so I better mention Jen. 😉 #2 did come out well. I wasn’t sure about that shot till I got it home on the computer. I didn’t do much to it, it just looked much better on the computer.

Leave a Reply

