The Grand Canyon


My first view of the Grand Canyon took my breath away. It is hard to describe what it is like to see and walk around the Canyon. I think the only way to know it is to experience it yourself. Our tour with Grand Adventures was a walking sunset tour. We strolled around the southern rim from the Grand Canyon Village to Yavapai Point.

I was generally the person from our group who stayed a little bit longer at each point to take photos. It didn’t really matter as I was able to catch up to the group with relative ease. Our guide, George, was a professional photographer and was giving everyone tips on how to shoot the Canyon, and how to take better photos overall. My wife, Kim, was learning a lot from George and even upgraded her camera when we reached the Canyon.


I was travelling with two cameras, a Canon G10 and a Nikon D80. Once we got the the Grand Canyon I put the G10 away in favour of my D80. Kim decided it would be a good idea to use the G10 when I wasn’t using it, instead of her little Nikon Point and Shoot. The G10 became Kim’s camera that day (at least until it was broken, but that is later in the trip).

Leave a Reply

