JAI 162 – Just Add A Technique you’ve never tried before!

It has been quite some time since I sat down and crafted with my wife, but the urge hit me tonight. The inspiration for this card came from my wife. Kim had done a really cool looking scrapbook page using a new rubbing technique. I’m not sure if it has been done by anyone else, but neither of us had seen it before. What she did was use the Stampin’ Up embossing folders as a rubbing background and created clouds on a blue card background.

This week at Just Add Ink their challenge was to use a new technique that I had never tried. I have been out of card making for more than a year, so there are plenty of techniques I haven’t used before, but this was the one I wanted to try. I used a wood grain embossing folder to rough up the brown, and some other patter folder (don’t know the name) for the red.

It was good to knockout a card for a challenge. This ended up as a Christmas card. I had no idea what it was going to be when I started, I just knew I wanted to try the rubbing technique.

8 thoughts on “JAI 162 – Just Add A Technique you’ve never tried before!

  1. Nikki Spencer

    Great technique Colin, l love the grungy worn look it gives, thinking l need to have a go at that one. It makes a lovely Christmas card! Thanks for playing at Just Add Ink.

  2. Christine Blain

    Very cool, Colin! I love the contrast between the distressed papers, and the clean die cut ornament. What a fun technique; glad you were inspired to play along with us at Just Add Ink this week.

Leave a Reply

