Niagara Falls – Part 1

Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls

After spending 5 hours traveling to Niagara falls, we were a bit over it. Once we got a glimpse of the falls we were a little underwhelmed. I’m not saying that they aren’t impressive, because they are, but the journey to get there was too arduous for this particular location. We took some initial photos, while we were under cover out of the rain, then we went and had some lunch. We had lunch at some dodgy fast food place where the food reflected the establishment. After we ingested lunch Kim and I went on the Maid of the Mist, Marion and Andrew didn’t come with us.

Having a ball in the spray of the falls

Niagara Falls looks completely different from the water level and it was here that we started to enjoy ourselves. We were carrying all our gear, as I didn’t feel comfortable leaving anything with Marion and Andrew, so I was trying to keep my camera bag protected from the spray. I had my bag on my back and the provided poncho was over both myself and my bag. On the boat there wasn’t too many people so we were able to get a good vantage point on the bow of the boat. We got absolutely covered in water from the spray off the Falls, we loved every second of it. There are two falls at Niagara, the American and the Canadian Horseshoe Falls. The Canadian is the superior but both are very nice. We met another Australian on the cruise who took some snaps of us.

4 thoughts on “Niagara Falls – Part 1

  1. janalinesmalman

    I never knew you could actually get so close to the falls on water level….must put that on my to-do-list when I get the chance to visit Niagara Falls! Beautiful photos!

  2. Colin Butterworth Post author

    It is quite amazing to get so close to the falls. obviously there are safety limits to how close they can get, but you still get pretty close and get covered in water. It was quite an experience!

Leave a Reply

