PR Design Challenge No.6

My wife and I are celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary today. Ever since our first valentines day together we have made it a point to make each other cards for special events (Valentines day, birthdays, anniversary, etc). So with this fortnights challenge at Perfectly Rustics in mind, I decided to use the brayer technique as inspiration and create an anniversary card for my lovely wife.

The colours I used for this card are:
Pink Pirouette, Rich Razzleberry and Midnight Muse

To create the background I made stencils from paper by cutting portions out. It took some time to cut out the stencil, but I like the effect they have on the card. I also used another technique to give a faux washi tape look. It seems to be all the rage these days to use washi tape and this is another take on that theme. I don’t remember where I saw this originally, but it was on the internet somewhere. I took the magic tape and placed it on the stamp pad to ink it up. Then I put the tape on the paper, smoothed it out a little and then removed the tape. The texture of the tape acts like a stamp. It is a bit messy, but isn’t that what hand crafting is about?

I fully realise that sleeping with one of the design team gives me an advantage in this challenge, but she has agreed to not judge my card at all.

Perfectly Rustics is still a new challenge site. They are doing their best, but they could use more entries. It is all a bit of fun so if you are looking for some ideas or want to put your work out there, please think about Perfectly Rustics.

I love you Kim!

One thought on “PR Design Challenge No.6

Leave a Reply

